What is the best case to build an engine off of?
Quote 0 0
Ryan
While I have a high degree of respect for John I do differ on a few things in that excerpt.  I definately recommend a new case if budget allows, if not the try to find an AS21 case in good shape.  No more than 1st over on the mains.  Even new cases can have problems, go over it with a fine tooth comb.
That said I started with a new case a few years back so I know it's complete history.  I've put over 60k miles on it, had the lifter bores bushed and 1st line bore done about 10k ago,,, I'm hard on my engine.  After the line bore, I do have slightly lower oil pressure, but still well within safety limits.
Always use OE head studs, I feel confident enough saying use whatever you're setup for, 8mm or 10mm.  I use 10mm studs and haven't had problems with them.  But OE is the key here, they can be purchased new from the right sources.  That said, I'd rather even take used original studs from a junkyard over the garbage aftermarket 'stock' studs.  If you need something stronger then chromoly is the next step, after that something like Raceware.  If you know you need these, then you don't need my help. 
Quote 0 0
Thanks guys, that helps me alot.
Quote 0 0
Wayne
Here's some info courtesy of AirCooled.net:

Quote: