This looks like a great forum and I am sure I will have a million questions. I just bought my first VW, a 1969 and I am absolutely in love. It is like a strange new world and I do not know a thing at all about it.  I saw it in a neighbors yard for sale and something told me it was to be mine. It took me about 2 seconds after I bought it  to understand why people fall in love with them.

I want to browse a little so I don't annoy anyone by asking questions that have been asked a million times already. But be kind.

Quote 0 0
jrrhdmust

I was a complete noob also when I bought my 71 Super.  The folks here have been very kind and good about answering my questions.

71 Super Beetle
Quote 0 0
MY72BUG
Hi TC and welcome to the world of VW.  There are a few things that any noob needs to know so here we go:
1. you are now part of a network that is world wide.
2. there are no dumb questions, sooner or later you will encounter brainteasers and puzzlements with your car, the answers are out there, someone else has faced your problem before.
3. your car is one of 22,000,000 !!!!  Parts are out there at very reasonable prices.  The parts are still being cranked out around the world.  Check out sites like CIP1
4. To keep your car happy, learn the routine maintenance and either roll up your sleeves and do it yourself or find a reliable mechanic who has the basic VW air-cooled knowledge.  A wise shade tree mechanic who has worked on these cars is hands down a better bet than a mechanic who has learned only the new stuff on today's computerized plastic jelly bean cars.