Friedle

This is my first post in this forum.  I've owned my bug 17-years.  She's kinda of a beater, but she runs great.  See my signature for details.  I work on my buddies bug's, and busses to keep 'em alive.  The best thing I've done for my Super is to put urathane bushings in the track arms-stabilizer-frame, new ball joints.  She rolls like any of my girls new cars    It's great to see so many people into the original fuel saving economy vehicle.

Patrick  

ps-I put in a signature, if it doesn't show I'll try again...

'72 Super. Paint-7/20/09, 400+k miles, New engine case "41" Brazil, rebuilt German heads, new Bosch electrics, new Solex German carb. new German silencer. Built by Steve Tims Performance/Enterprises, Riverside CA. '73 OEM airfilter, (Fram elemement), chrome stock wheels, daily driver, 25.46-27.50mpg, driven 20+years.
Quote 0 0
MY72BUG
Hi Friedle.  Welcome to the world of VW.  I can see that you may be a newbie here in the forum but you sound like a VW veteran who has experiences to share.  MY72BUG is a Superbeetle convertible; a four year (1999-2003) restoration which brought a car back from the brink of junkdom into the realm of reliable summer-cruisers.  Somethings to watch with your ' 72.  Strut bearing plates tend to see the rubber split away from the metal surroundings!  Yikes.  Quite replaceable with a little bit of effort.  Watch your idler arm assembly in your right front wheelwell.  Up to this year they were made of cast aluminum which tends to rot and can lead to a dramatic loss of control of the car.  When mine was undergoing its structural work, the bodyshop owner showed me how bad was my idler.  He grabbed the edge of it and broke a piece off with his hand!  No longer aluminum, it was pure oxide with the consistency of chalk.  I had a wrecked ' 74 in which the idler assy. is stamped steel - solid as  a freakin' rock.  Yes; it bolted right in.  That it was made of steel was a clear sign that VW had recognized a bad unit.  Those are ju