mclamorewp
I'm new to this forum and the air cooled vw's. Used to have a fox but thats another story. I'm looking to buy a beetle and was wondering what to look for. I'm hoping to not spend more than 4k USD if I can help it. Also is it feasable to use a beetle as a daily driver. My pickup just sucks too much fuel. Appreciate any help I recieve
Quote 0 0
bschwarz77
I'm no expert, but here's stuff I was told and my spin on this:

If you're spending 4k, make sure you really get under there and check CLOSELY for rust.  For that much money there should be minimal rust anywhere on the underside, if any.

I'd stay away from anything older than say '67 or so.  During the late 60's and early 70's they started into the 1500 and 1600cc engines and parts are maybe a little more common and interchangeable.  I've got a '69 with the 1500cc engine and have very little problem finding parts, but I think the 70's models (like the Super Beetle) parts are a little more common.  At least as far as buying new condition parts.

The blue book puts what I'd consider a pretty low value on even a decent beetle.  I think most of us who own one would likely take a wizz on that kind of an offer, even if the old buggie isn't so pretty.  So don't be surprised if you see some... "interesting" prices on some not-so-pretty beetles.  A faded paint job, cracked window, a few dents and shabby interior might be offset in value by minimal rust on the underside, a properly maintained engine, good brakes and good suspension.