ablessedbugowner
Since I am a new Bug owner, I have what you might think is a silly question. I noticed that my engine was running pretty hot today - I live in West Texas and the temp was over 100 F this afternoon. I have about a 25 mile trip home. When I got home, the engine had some smoke coming from it. Any ideas on how to keep it cooler? I was reading up on the air flap and thermostat but no where have I been able to find anything that tells me where these are. I have a 72 Super Beetle. I'm new at all this and so I was hoping to find a good picture showing where too look.

Thanks
'72 Super Beetle
Quote 0 0
olspeed
Time to crawl on the ground, look under the car at the engine (passengers side) there should be a bracket that bolts to the side of the engine. it will be covered by the cooling tin, but by looking from the back forward you should see it on that side. remove the four bolts that hold the tin on the bottom on that side and you will see the bracket and thermostat bellows(if it's still there). As designed by VW the air control flaps should stay open if the bellows fails but as with any 30+ year old car things may not be working like they should. loosen the bolt holding the bracket to the engine block and it should spring up toward the engine(work with the engine stone cold) if not the flaps are stuck or the spring is broke and you will have to pull the fan shroud to find and fix the problem. If it does spring up then here is what the VW Service Manual says to adjust it. (section 1  engine  subsection 6.1  page 14)
1. If a new thermostat is being installed,screw it onto the thermostat rod. If the adjustment is simply being checked,unbolt the thermostat from it's bracket.
2. raise the thermostat off its bracket until the control flaps are wide open. if the top of the thermostat does not just contact the upper part of the bracket an adjustment is required.