larsden11
I am new to air cooled beetles.  My fiance has a '74 beetle sitting in her mom's garage and we would like get it running again.  So we need to tow it a couple hundred miles to get it to my garage to begin the fun.  It has been sitting for about 10 years.  It is looking like getting a tow bar might make the most sense as it would be about the same amount of money as renting a dolly and then we could tow it if needed in the future. 

Is it OK to tow a '74 beetle (manual transmission) with all four wheels on the ground without modifying anything?  I have heard that most vehicles would require either disconnecting the driveshaft or installing a lubrication pump to keep the transmission from burning out on the trip.  But I have also heard that possibly the beetles were designed to be towed in this manner and wouldn't need anything special.  Any references or ideas as to how would I find out for sure?

Thanks!
Quote 0 0
olspeed
Get your tow bar, check the tires and check the fluid in the trany and then tow away. As long as the transmission is full of lube(SAE 80W or SAE 80W/90) you should be good to go as the trany is more or less a splash lube type system. Also if it's been sitting that long you might want to check the front wheel bearings and repack them if you aer going a long way.
Olspeed
66 Ghia 76 std Beetle
It's not a car it's a VolksWagon
Quote 0 0
MY72BUG